Happy New Year!

A last minute decision to stay in Lincoln for New Year’s Eve called for a home-cooked meal! I didn’t have much time, so I pulled out my trusty “Big Book of 30-Minute Dinners” and this is what I came up with. I’m not a huge meat and potato lover, but it was pretty good.

Why yes, it’s pork diane, chive-buttered potatoes and my favorite salad. You will soon learn that salads are one of my main food groups. This one was with salad dressing from my favorite local restaurant, kalamata olives, feta cheese and croutons. It was great! And the potatoes only took 8 minutes in the microwave and about 1 minute prep time.
Oh, and as a side note, tonight’s meal was a taco salad. Keep your eye out for that post. It was delish.
Pork Diane
Ingredients:
1 tbsp water
1 tbsp white wine
Worcestershire sauce
1 tsp lemon juice
1 tsp Dijon-style mustard
1 lb boneless pork loin roast, cut into 3/4- to 1-inch slices
1 tsp lemon-pepper (I was out, so I used herb & garlic seasoning.)
2 tbsp butter
1 tbsp chives or parsley
Directions:
1.) Stir together water, Worcestershire sauce, lemon juice, and muster and set aside for the sauce.
2.) Trim the fat from your pork loin and sprinkle both sides with lemon-pepper seasoning. Cook pork in hot butter over medium heat for 6-10 minutes or until done and remove from the skillet.
3.) Add sauce to the skillet, stirring until well-blended.
4.) Pour sauce over meat, sprinkle with chives or parsley.
Chive-buttered Potatoes
Ingredients:
8-10 new potatoes
2 tbsp water
Butter & chives
Directions:
1.) Quarter the potatoes and cook in a covered dish with the water for 8-10 minutes.
2.) Drain and mix with butter and chives.
2 thoughts on “Happy New Year!

  1. I've had that problem too, but I think it's because I'm not always sure when it's done and I just cook it longer than I needed too. The cookbook I used this time said 6-10 minutes, so I only did 6 minutes and it turned out pretty good. It may be different for you and probably varies depending on how your cooking/baking it.

Leave a Reply

