Shepherd’s pie on a lovely baptism day!

For some reason, I notice that I like to cook or bake around events that are going on. That’s probably typical, I guess. Sunday was my nephew’s baptism followed by a delicious brunch.

Whoops…how did that get there. I’m a pretty proud aunt. The baby just got baptized and I am honored to be his sponsor. The big brother is my biggest fan and I often have dreams of him yelling my name after I spend time with him.
While I’m at it…

Here’s my other adorable little nephew…he’s a cuddler, only with his Aunt Sarah, and only when he’s really tired.
Ok, back to business…shepherd’s pie!

I have always seen pictures of Shepherd’s Pie and always wondered what it tasted like. It just looks like a mash of delicious ingredients and when I tried a recipe from Cooking Light, I was pleasantly surprised. I used instant potatoes, which I prefer over the real deal anyways. The bottom has it’s own interesting flavors, you’ll have to try it and let me know what you think. After trying it, I couldn’t stop thinking about all the possibilities of what I could have added to the meaty portion…corn, green beans, jalapeños, olives…
Shepherd’s Pie
Ingredients:
2 cups prepared mashed potatoes
3/4 lb ground sirloin
3/4 cup picante sauce
1/3 cup water
1 tbsp ground cumin
2 tsp sugar
1/8 tsp salt
1 (15-oz) can kidney beans, drained and rinsed
1/2 cup pre-shredded reduced-fat extra sharp cheddar cheese
Directions:
1.) Brown the beef in a large nonstick skillet over medium-high heat.
2.) Stir in the picante sauce, water, cumin, sugar, salt and beans and bring to a boil. Reduce heat and simmer until mixture thickens (about 5 minutes).
3.) Meanwhile, prepare the mashed potatoes according to package directions.
4.) Remove both from heat and spoon mashed potatoes on top of meat mixture and sprinkle with the cheese. Cover and let stand until the cheese melts.
2 thoughts on “Shepherd’s pie on a lovely baptism day!

  1. Aww…precious! 🙂

    I've never made Shepherd's pie…but I've always seen it with mixed vegetables…so beans and picante sounds like an interesting twist!

    I made chili casserole last night. Brown a pound of ground beef with onions. Add one can each of chili beans, drained kidney beans, green chiles and diced tomatoes. Season with cumin, chili powder, garlic powder, black pepper and brown sugar. Spoon into a casserole dish, top with shredded cheese and cornbread mix (to which I add about a cup of corn). Bake according to cornbread instructions. Yum!

Leave a Reply

