Go Pack Go!

I’ve been dreaming about the Super Bowl since the Packers won the NFC Championship. I haven’t really been dreaming so much about the game, although I do like the Packers. I’ve been thinking about the cupcakes and other food I was going to make for the party! I’d say it was a success.  After all, the best part of the night was the Packer win! I think I’ll take partial credit for that victory.

We started out with some Pioneer Woman chili. I didn’t make it, but I’ll take partial credit. I made it about a month ago and my boyfriend loved it, so he decided to make it on his own. I tried to find it on her web site, but can’t. I guess you’ll just have to go buy her cookbook. It was delicious!
Then we made some wings! These are the same one’s I made before, but when they were done, we put them in a Crockpot and added a little more hot sauces and some jalapeños. It made them a little spicier and kept them warm for our guests. Yum!
We also had some cheese and crackers, homemade guacamole (Thanks Jason!) and other party snacks.
And I made football strawberries!
Aren’t these little guys just the cutest things???
All I did was dip them in melted semi-sweet baking squares and put them in the fridge overnight. Then I used my frosting from “the grand finale” and my new icing equipment to draw the little laces.
Finally….
The green velvet cupcakes! I’m so proud of my first every icing experiment and it’s not even that fancy.
There’s the tray full of them. Simply beautiful, completely homemade and they taste AMAZING!
I used a tried and true Red Velvet Cupcake recipe and substituted the red food coloring for green. Made the frosting and then used color paste to get the bright yellow and deep green. You can’t really see the G on each of them in the photo.  That’s probably a good thing.  No two looked a like!

Green Velvet Cupcakes
Ingredients:
2 1/2 cups flour
1/2 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
1 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp salt
1 cup butter, softened
2 cups sugar
4 eggs
1 cup sour cream
1/2 cup milk
1 bottle green food color
2 tsp vanilla extract
Directions:
1.) Preheat the oven to 350°.
2.) Mix together the flour, cocoa powder, baking soda and salt and set aside.
3.) Beat butter and sugar on medium speed five minutes or until light and fluffy. Beat in the eggs one at a time and mix in the sour cream, milk and food color and vanilla.
4.) Slowly beat in the flour mixture until just blended.
5.) Spoon into paper-lined muffin cups, filling each about two-thirds full. It should make about 30 cupcakes.
6.) Bake 20-35 minutes or until a toothpick comes out clean.
7.) Cool in pans on a wire rack for about five minutes. Remove and let cool completely.
Vanilla Cream Cheese Frosting
Ingredients:
8 oz. cream cheese, softened
1/4 cup butter, softened
2 tbsp sour cream
2 tsp vanilla extract
16 oz. confectioner’s sugar
Directions:
1.) Beat cream cheese, butter, sour cream and vanilla extract in large bowl until light and fluffy.
2.) Gradually beat in confectioner’s sugar until smooth.
3.) Add color or frost away!
One thought on “Go Pack Go!

Leave a Reply

