Beans for my lovely nephew…

So I volunteered to bring beans to this year’s 4th of July festivities. Little did I know, it’s my 1-year-old nephew’s favorite food! I heard he ate a lot–I’m glad I wasn’t changing his diapers. And a few people asked me what was in them, so I thought I’d share the recipe.

Note: I doubled the recipe and made this in the crock-pot only because I was ready early enough and that’s how I transported them and kept them warm. I’m sure they’d be just as good over the stove. Also, I stole this from my Better Homes and Garden’s Cookbook.

Shortcut Baked Beans

Ingredients:
1 16-oz can pork and beans in tomato sauce
1 15-oz can red kidney
1/4 cup ketchup
2 Tbsp packed brown sugar
1 Tbsp cooked bacon pieces
2 Tsp dried minced onion
2 Tsp yellow mustard

Crock pot directions:
Double all ingredients and combine in a 3.5- or 4-quart slow cooker. Cover and cook on low-heat setting for 5 to 6 hours or on high-heat setting for 2.5-3 hours.

Stovetop directions:
In a medium saucepan, combine ingredients. Cook over low heat about 15 minutes or to desired consistency. Stir often.2qqqq1

One thought on “Beans for my lovely nephew…

Leave a Reply

