Mechichan Pizza

Happy Cinco de Mayo! I’d almost go as far to say this is one of my favorite holidays. That’s only because I’m a huge fan of Mexican food. I could eat out at a Mexican restaurant about every other day and be oh so happy. Unfortunately, after a while I would probably not be so happy about how many pounds I’ve gained, so I was thrilled when I was browsing my usual blogs and ran across a healthy Mexican pizza.

Isn’t it beautiful??

I’m going to rename it Mechichan Pizza in honor of my 3-year old nephew, who can’t quite pronounce Mexican yet. 🙂

Anyways, I adopted the recipe from Emily Bites.
Don’t be scared off by the salsa/taco sauce base, as I almost was. The black beans and taco meat even out the flavor, so it doesn’t taste like a pizza crust and salsa. (That’s what I was afraid of.) I’d also like to point out how she notes only 206 calories per slice!

I’d definitely make this one again.

Mechichan Pizza
Ingredients:
3.25 oz uncooked 95% lean ground beef
2 t reduced sodium taco seasoning
12” Whole Wheat Thin Pizza Crust
½ cup chunky salsa
1/3 c canned black beans, drained and rinsed
¾ c reduced fat 2% shredded sharp cheddar cheese
4 medium black olives, sliced 1 medium scallion (green parts only), chopped

Directions: 
1. Preheat the oven to 450.
2. In a large skillet, brown the ground beef over medium-high heat. Add taco seasoning and stir to thoroughly combine.
3. Spread the salsa evenly across the surface of the pizza crust, leaving at least a ½ inch edge around the outside. Sprinkle the black beans across the top of the salsa layer and then follow with the taco meat. Sprinkle the cheese evenly across the top and then follow with the sliced olives.
4. Place pizza on a foil covered baking sheet, a pre-heated pizza stone or straight onto the oven rack and bake for 8-10 minutes. Remove from the oven, slice and sprinkle the chopped scallions over the top.

One thought on “Mechichan Pizza

Leave a Reply

