Easy, peasy Patriotic Kabobs

I’m real excited to share my new favorite 4th of July treat. Yes, I know it would have been easier on you to have this yesterday, but just pin this baby on Pinterest and use it next year!

If you answer yes to any of these questions, I’ve got a desert for you.
    Is it hot where you live?
    Is it so hot that you don’t want to turn on the oven, stove or even grill?

We were going to a barbecue last night and I needed to bring something. It was 90-something degrees and I did not want to bake cupcakes like I originally had planned on. I was thrilled when I came up with this Patriotic Kabobs idea. (I’m sure someone else has come up with it, but I still love it and will take some credit for it.)

I purchased the angel food cake, but you could easily buy a mix and make it or find a real recipe. That would just warm up my apartment, though.

Patriotic Kabobs
Ingredients:
1 Angel Food Cake
Strawberries
Blueberries
Skewers

I think you can figure the directions out on your own. I did learn that the blueberries were good at holding everything together. So my tip is to start and end your skewer with a blueberry.

Hope you all had a happy 4th! It’s almost the weekend again!

3 thoughts on “Easy, peasy Patriotic Kabobs

  1. Fun! Did you make a dip to go with it?

    I used the same ingredients, but did it in trifle form mixing together one container of Cool Whip and an equal portion of vanilla yogurt. I heated up my kitchen, though…I'm too cheap to buy angel food! 😉 K

  2. A dip was an afterthought, but we didn't have enough time. I thought about drizzling it with melted chocolate. In my head, it tasted amazing.

    Angel food cake was only about $2 at the grocery store and I don't think I have an angel food cake pan!

  3. What?! I thought your mom got you one? Or you got your grandma's?

    Actually “small town grocery store” didn't have angel food cake. They had a small loaf of frozen pound cake…for almost $6!!

    P.S. Drizzled chocolate sounds amazing, btw!

Leave a Reply

