My first 5K!

We survived the happiest 5K on the planet!

(And also the largest 5K in Nebraska!)

If you don’t know what the Color Run is, you should go to www.thecolorrun.com, find the nearest one and sign up. We, along with 13,000 of our closest friends in 90-something degree heat, had a blast! To give you the gist of it, it’s a 5K. That’s 3.1 miles. The only requirement is to wear a (mostly) white shirt. At every K, there’s a color station and there are volunteers throwing a colored powder at you. That’s pretty much it! There were babies in strollers, people in their 60s and everything in between. There was even a dog in a white shirt! (Fun idea, but next time bring him water so he’s not trying to lay in the shade as you drag him along. That’s probably a rant for another post…)

I even convinced James to do it and here we are before it even started.

 
I was so worked up about my hair getting color in it, so I wore that silly bandanna. And as it turns out, I really had nothing to worry about!

They started off huge groups ever few minutes. This picture is about 30 minutes into our wait to go and we were actually very close to the start line at this point! Can you see it??

The “after” picture!

You’ll notice we aren’t standing near as close to each other after the run…

Here I am afterwards. A full color packet tucked safely away in my sports bra in the first photo

And here’s the team–CMYKrazy!
(Some of them got into a little color fight while we weren’t around…)
James’s brother-in-law-Nate, me, James, James’s sister-Heather (middle) and our friend Ann

It was a great time and I’m so glad I did it! Anyone know of any other exciting fun runs around the Midwest? I’d love to do another.
Hope you all have a great week!
6 thoughts on “My first 5K!

  1. Eh, anything can happen to anyone at anytime. My mom slipped on wet grass and broke her leg! 😉 Besides, you can go around an obstacle if you puss out.

    Dooo it!

Leave a Reply

