Buffalo Chicken Cheese Balls for the win!

Eeeek! It’s almost game day!

If you know me at all, you probably could have guessed that I would start my tailgate chalenge with a buffalo chicken-something. So here we have it…buffalo chicken cheese balls.

I will be the first to admit that this was a lot more work than I usually spend on tailgate food.

I specifically remember thinking, while i was balling these things, “I really hope this turns out perfect the first time because I do not want to do these again this week.”

Now that I’ve scared you away from making them, I’ll tell you, not only did they turn out perfect, but they tasted AH-mazing!

I borrowed most of the recipe from the Food Network website, but didnt want to fry them in oil, so I tossed them on a pan and baked them. I didn’t try out the blue cheese dip. I’m more of a ranch fan, myself.

Buffalo Chicken Cheese Balls

Ingredients:
1 store-bought rotisserie chicken
1/4 cup Frank’s hot sauce
1 tsp ground black pepper
1-3/4 cups sharp Cheddar
1/4 cup freshly sliced scallions
1 cup all-purpose flour
3 eggs, lightly beaten
2 cups panko bread crumbs

Directions:
1.) Preheat oven to 450°.
2.) Pick the meat from the chicken and throw out the gross skin.
3.) Mix the chicken with Franks, pepper, cheese and scallions.
4.) Roll the chicken into balls. The FN site says about the size of golf balls, but I made mine a little bigger and they turned out just fine.
5.) Place the flour, eggs and bread crumbs in three separate bowls in that order and roll each chicken ball in the flour, then the eggs, then the bread crumbs.
6.) Place on a baking sheet. (Spray or don’t spray the baking sheet at your own discretion.)
7.) Bake for 15 minutes. Let cool and eat them all!

Let me know what recipes you’re trying out for your first game day!

Have fun and go big red!

Note: I’m doing a 2012 Tailgate Challenge. Every Friday I’ll be posting a new recipe I think would be great for a tailgate or football viewing party. Don’t forget to come back next week!

2 thoughts on “Buffalo Chicken Cheese Balls for the win!

  1. I'm totally making these next week for the night game. I bought my chicken and shredded it last night, frozen until next weekend. This week we did BBQ meatballs, chicken spread for crackers, and a roasted red pepper hummus for veggies. Yum. 30 minutes until kickoff. GO BIG RED!!!

  2. You are much smarter than I am by shredding the chicken in advance. I made need to get that meatball recipe from you. Meatballs are on my “must have” list for my tailgate challenge!

Leave a Reply

