Hot Corn Dip, I’m 2 for 2.

What do you think of using the term “hot corn dip” as a form of expression? The thought just occurred to me as I typed that title. It could take on a similar meaning as “hot diggity,” although I’m not sure people actually say that anymore. Ok. Random thought of today is over and now we’re back to our football food.

This week’s tailgate food is much easier. I’m talking minimal chopping, open the can, mix it up, stick it in the oven, easier. And again, I got rave reviews! It’s what I’d call a very heavy food because there’s so much cheese, but who doesn’t love cheese! Just don’t eat too much of it, or you may get a stomach ache. (I may or may not be speaking from experience.)

Here’s my dip. Don’t those tomatoes look juicy! I saw this dip several places, but I’m giving most of my credit to Gina Marie’s Kitchen. As you can see, I left out the cilantro again, but it still tasted great.

Hot Corn Dip

Ingredients:
2 cu shredded cheddar cheese
1 cup shredded colby jack cheese
2 Tbsp chipotle peppers in adobo suace, diced
4 oz. can of diced green chiles (undrained)
1/2 cup mayonnaise
1/4 tsp garlic powder
11 oz. can corn, drained
1 small tomato, diced
2 Tbsp green onions, sliced thin
Directions:
1.) Pre-heat your oven to 350°.
2.) Mix cheeses, peppers, chiles, mayo, garlic powder and corn in a large bowl.
3.) Pour into an oven-safe bowl and bake 20 minutes or until golden brown.
4.) Top with tomatoes and green onions. Serve immediately with tortilla chips or crackers.


Note: I’m doing a 2012 Tailgate Challenge. Every Friday I’ll be posting a new recipe I think would be great for a tailgate or football viewing party. Don’t forget to come back next week!

Leave a Reply

