Winter Weather Chicken Noodle Soup

What is up with the weather these days?!?

It’s pretty rare that I think to myself, “Boy, a nice bowl of chicken noodle soup would really warm me up today.” But today, a lot of rain, a little sleet and some snow on the way, really had me thinking SOUP!

We had some leftover carrots and celery and, when I cleaned out the kitchen a few weeks ago, I discovered that we had a ton of chicken broth. It only seemed logical that I make chicken noodle soup tonight.

I was going to make up the recipe and pray that it turned out edible, but at the last second, as I was stopped at the grocery store, I decided to find a legitimate recipe. It was pretty darn similar to what I had going on in my head, so I was pretty proud.

Chicken-Noodle-Soup

Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup (adopted from Iowa Girl Eats)

Ingredients:

1 Tbsp Butter
2 tsp olive oil
1/4 onion, finely chopped
1 lg carrot, thinly sliced
1 stalk celery, chopped
salt & pepper
2 garlic cloves, minced
2 chicken breasts, cooked and shredded
46 oz. chicken broth
8 oz. frozen egg noodles

Directions:

1.) Melt butter in olive oil in a large soup pot over medium heat.
2.) Add onion, carrot, celery and salt and pepper and sauté for about 10 minutes or until soft.
3.) Add garlic and sauté for another minute.
4.) Add chicken and chicken broth and turn stove to high until boiling.
5.) Add egg noodles and cook for 20-25 minutes or until noodles are soft.

P.S. It’s probably smart that when a recipe says 1/4 onion, you should read and pay attention and not put any more than that in it.

P.P.S. I was supposed to be outside playing sand volleyball right now. And here are the current weather conditions, in case you’re wondering.

5.1.2013 weather snapshot

And with that, happy May Day!

Now, go cuddle up in a blanket next the fireplace and hope that tomorrow brings spring. (Or summer, really. At this point, I’d be down for either.)

b8963-signature

 

 

 

 

Note: Yes I did type this on May Day and I’m still posting it today!

One thought on “Winter Weather Chicken Noodle Soup

  1. {I forgot I need to check here now!}

    Sounds about like how I make it. I like to throw in some dried parsley to brighten it up a bit. 😉

Leave a Reply

